2018

2022

NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH National Cancer Institute National Cancer Advisory Board

CHAIR Elizabeth M. Jaffee, M.D.

Deputy Director
The Sidney Kimmel
Comprehensive Cancer Center
The Dana and Albert "Cubby" Broccoli
Professor of Oncology
Co-Director, Skip Viragh Center for Pancreas Cancer
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland

Peter C. Adamson, M.D. 2020

Chair, Children's Oncology Group Alan R. Cohen Endowed Chair in Pediatrics The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Francis Ali-Osman, D.Sc. 2022

Margaret Harris and David Silverman
Distinguished Professor of Neuro-Oncology Research
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Pathology
Department of Surgery and Pathology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina

Deborah Watkins Bruner, RN, Ph.D., F.A.A.N. 2020

Robert W. Woodruff Chair of Nursing Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing Associate Director for Outcomes Research Winship Cancer Institute Emory University Atlanta, Georgia

Yuan Chang, M.D. 2020

American Cancer Society Research Professor Distinguished Professor of Pathology UPCI Chair of Cancer Virology University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

David C. Christiani, M.D., M.P.H. 2018

Elkan Blout Professor of Environmental Genetics Department of Environmental Health Department of Epidemiology Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts Judy E. Garber, M.D., M.P.H.

2018

Director
Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Lawrence O. Gostin, J.D. 2022

University Professor
Faculty Director, Founding Linda D.
and Timothy J. O'Neill Professor
in Global Health Law
O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health
Georgetown University
Washington, DC

Scott W. Hiebert, Ph.D.

Hortense B. Ingram Chair in Cancer Research Professor of Biochemistry Department of Biochemistry Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Nashville, Tennessee

Beth Y. Karlan, M.D. 2018

Director, Women's Cancer Program
Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute
Director of Gynecologic Oncology
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Cedar-Sinai Medical Center
Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
Los Angeles, California

Timothy J. Ley, M.D.

Professor of Medicine and Genetics

Division of Oncology

Department of Medicine

Washington University School of Medicine

in St. Louis

St. Louis, Missouri

Electra D. Paskett, Ph.D.

2022

2020

Marion N. Rowley Professor of Cancer Research
Director, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
Department of Internal Medicine
College of Medicine
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Nancy J. Raab-Traub, Ph.D.

2022

Professor

Department of Microbiology and Immunology

School of Medicine

Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Mack Roach III, M.D., F.A.C.R.

2018

Professor of Radiation Oncology and Urology Director, Particle Therapy Research Program & Outreach

Department of Radiation Oncology

University of California, San Francisco

Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

San Francisco, California

Charles L. Sawyers, M.D.

2018

Chairman

Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Professor of Medicine

Weill Cornell Medical College

New York, New York

Margaret R. Spitz, M.D., M.P.H.

2022

Professor

Department of Medicine

Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center

Baylor College of Medicine

Houston, Texas

Max S. Wicha, M.D.

2020

Deputy Director of the Taubman Institute Distinguished Professor of Oncology Professor, Internal Medicine Division of Hematology and Oncology University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Michigan

Executive Secretary Paulette S. Gray, Ph.D.

Director

Division of Extramural Activities

National Cancer Institute, NIH

Bethesda, Maryland

Acting Committee Management Officer

Ms. Joy Wiszneauckas

Division of Extramural Activities National Cancer Institute, NIH

Bethesda, Maryland

EX OFFICIOS

The Honorable R. Alexander Acosta, J.D.

Secretary U.S. Department of Labor Washington, DC

The Honorable Alex M. Azar II, J.D.

Secretary

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Washington, DC

Linda S. Birnbaum, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., A.T.S.

Director

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Toxicology Program National Institutes of Health Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

Ann Marie Buerkle, J.D.

Acting Chairman U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Bethesda, Maryland

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

Director National Institutes of Health Bethesda, Maryland

Scott Gottlieb, M.D.

Commissioner
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Silver Spring, Maryland

John Howard, M.D., M.P.H., J.D., LL.M.

Director National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Washington, DC

The Honorable James Mattis, M.A.

Secretary of Defense The Pentagon Washington, DC

The Honorable Rick Perry

Secretary U.S. Department of Energy Washington, DC

The Honorable David J. Shulkin, M.D.

Under Secretary for Health Veterans Health Administration U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Washington, DC

Andrew Wheeler, J.D.

Acting Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Washington, DC

TBN

Science Advisor to the President Director Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Washington, DC

Alternates to Ex Officios

Robert T. Anderson, Ph.D.

Director, Biological Systems Science Division
Office of Biological and Environmental
Research
U.S. Department of Energy
Washington, DC
(The Honorable Rick Perry - DOE)

Michael A. Babich, Ph.D.

Directorate for Epidemiology and Health Sciences U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Bethesda, Maryland (Ann Marie Buerkle, J.D - CPSC)

Vincent J. Cogliano, Ph.D.

Acting Director
Integrated Risk Information System Program
National Center for Environmental Assessment
Office of Research and Development
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Washington, DC
(Andrew Wheeler, J.D. - EPA)

Michael Kelley, M.D., F.A.C.P.

National Program Director for Oncology Veterans Health Administration U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Durham, North Carolina (The Honorable David J. Shulkin, M.D. - VA)

Aubrey Miller, M.D., M.P.H.

Senior Medical Advisor
Office of the Director
National Institute of Environmental Health
Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland
(Linda S. Birnbaum, Ph.D., D.A.B.T., A.T.S. - NIEHS)

Richard Pazdur, M.D., F.A.C.P.

Director
Oncology Center of Excellence
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Silver Spring, Maryland
(Scott Gottlieb, M.D. - FDA)

Craig D. Shriver, M.D., F.A.C.S., COL., M.C.

Director, John P. Murtha Cancer Center Chief, General Surgery Program Director, National Capital Consortium General Surgery Principal Investigator, Clinical Breast Care Project Professor of Surgery, Uniformed Services University Bethesda, Maryland (The Honorable James Mattis, M.A. - DOD)

Kerry Souza, Sc.D., M.P.H.

Epidemiologist National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Washington, DC (John Howard, M.D., M.P.H., J.D., LL.M. - NIOSH)

Lawrence A. Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D.

Principal Deputy Director National Institutes of Health Bethesda, Maryland (Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.)

Richard J. Thomas, M.D., M.P.H.

Deputy Director
Office of Occupational Medicine
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
U.S. Department of Labor
Washington, DC.
(The Honorable R. Alexander Acosta, J.D. – DOL)

TBN

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President Washington, DC (TBN – OSTP)