# 2009 Tobacco Control Update: TTURCs

Presentation to the National Cancer Advisory Board February 3, 2009

Cathy L. Backinger, PhD, MPH

Chief

Tobacco Control Research Branch

Behavioral Research Program

Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences

National Cancer Institute

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

National Institutes of Health

## Transdisciplinary Tobacco Use Research Centers (TTURCs)

#### Purpose

 To facilitate a transdisciplinary approach to the full spectrum of basic and applied research on tobacco use to reduce the disease burden of tobacco use.

Co-Funders – NIDA, RWJF, and NIAAA

#### **TTURC Milestones**

- RFA released December 1998; Awarded September 1999.
- RFA reissued October 2003; Award September 2004

2009 marks the 10<sup>th</sup> anniversary of TTURCs

#### **Current TTURCs**

- Tobacco Dependence: Treatment and Outcomes
   Timothy B. Baker, University of Wisconsin
- Building the Evidence Base for Tobacco Control Policies
   K. Michael Cummings, Roswell Park
- Tobacco Exposure Reduction
   Dorothy K. Hatsukami, University of Minnesota
- Genes, Environment & Tobacco Use Across Cultures
   C. Anderson Johnson, Claremont Graduate University
- Nicotine Dependence: Phenotype, Endophenotype & Contexts Raymond Niaura, Brown University
- TTURC: Treatment Options for Smoking Cessation Caryn E. Lerman, University of Pennsylvania
- Tobacco Dependence & Risk Factors for Treatment Failure
   Stephanie S O'Malley, Yale University

### 2009 Tobacco Control Update: NCAB Presentations



"Building the Evidence Base for Tobacco Control Policies"

K. Michael Cummings, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Chair, Department of Health Behavior

Division of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences

Roswell Park Cancer Institute

2009 ACS Luther L. Terry Award Winner for Outstanding Research Contribution



"Nicotine Dependence Treatment: From Mouse to Man to Medicine"

#### Caryn Lerman, Ph.D.

Director, Tobacco Use Research Center

Mary W. Calkins Professor

Department of Psychiatry and Annenberg Public Policy Center Scientific

Director, Abramson Cancer Center

University of Pennsylvania

President Elect of the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco