NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH

National Cancer Institute Board of Scientific Advisors

CHAIR

Dafna Bar-Sagi, Ph.D. 2021

Saul J. Farber Professor
of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Executive Vice President and Vice Dean for Science
Chief Scientific Officer
NYU Langone Health
New York University School of Medicine
New York, New York

MEMBERS

Kenneth C. Anderson, M.D., Ph.D. 2021

Kraft Family Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Director Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Boston, Massachusetts

Michael John Becich, M.D., Ph.D. 2021

Chairman and Distinguished University Professor,
Department of Biomedical Informatics
Professor of Pathology, Computing/Information,
Clinical/Translational Sciences, and
Bioengineering
Associate Vice Chancellor for Informatics in the
Health Sciences
Co-Director, Center for Commercial Application
(CCA) of Healthcare Data
Associate Director, Hillman Cancer Institute (HCI)
Associate Director, Clinical and Translational
Science Institute (CTSI)
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Mary C. Beckerle, Ph.D. 2022

Chief Executive Officer
Huntsman Cancer Institute
Jon M. Huntsman Presidential Endowed Chair
Distinguished Professor of Biology and
Oncological Services
Associate Vice President of Cancer Affairs
The University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Melissa L. Bondy, Ph.D.

2021

Chair and Professor

Department of Epidemiology and Population Health

Co-Director, Center for Population Health Sciences Associate Director for Population Sciences Stanford Cancer Institute Stanford, California

Otis W. Brawley, M.D., M.A.C.P., 2023 F.A.S.C.O., F.A.C.E.

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Oncology and Epidemiology The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, Maryland

Graham A. Colditz, Dr.PH, M.D., M.P.H. 2020

Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery
Professor of Medicine and
Associate Director Prevention and Control
Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center
Deputy Director, Institute for Public Health
Chief, Division of Public Health Sciences
Department of Surgery
Washington University School of Medicine
in St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri

Christopher M. Counter, Ph.D. Professor Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Bi Duke University School of Medicine Durham, North Carolina Carol E. Ferrans, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.	2021 ology 2020	W. Kimryn Rathmell, M.D., Ph.D. Cornelius A. Craig Professor Department of Medicine Director Division of Hematology and Oncology Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, Tennessee	2023
Harriet Werley Endowed Chair for Research Professor Department of Biobehavioral Health Science College of Nursing University of Illinois Chicago Chicago, Illinois		Leslie L. Robison, Ph.D. Chairman Department of Epidemiology and Cancer Cor St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Associate Director St. Jude Comprehensive Cancer Center	2022 atrol
Keith T. Flaherty, M.D. Director	2023	Memphis, Tennessee	
Clinical Research Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Cent Boston, Massachusetts	ter	Martine F. Roussel (Sherr), Ph.D. St. Jude Children's Research's Endowed Chain Molecular Oncogenesis Department of Molecular Sciences	2020 ir
Earen E. Knudsen, M.B.A., Ph.D. 2023 xecutive Vice President encology Services, Jefferson Health enterprise Director CI-Designated Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at		The University of Tennessee Full Member, Department of Tumor Cell Bio St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Memphis, Tennessee	logy
Jefferson Chair & Hilary Koprowski Endowed Profess Department of Cancer Biology Thomas Jefferson University Philadelphia, Pennsylvania James V. Lacey, Jr., Ph.D., M.P.H.		Robert D. Schreiber, Ph.D. Andrew M. and Jane M. Bursky Distinguished Professor Director, Center for Human Immunology and Immunotherapy Programs Department of Pathology and Immunology Washington University School of Medicine	
Director and Professor Division of Health Analytics Department of Computational and Quantitative Medicine Beckman Research Institute City of Hope Duarte, California		St. Louis, Missouri Victoria L. Seewaldt, M.D. Ruth Ziegler Professor Chair, Department of Population Sciences Beckman Research Institute City of Hope Duarte Colifornia	2020
Michelle M. Le Beau, Ph.D. Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor of Modification Director University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center The University of Chicago Chicago, Illinois	2023 edicine	Duarte, California Kevin M. Shannon M.D. American Cancer Society Research Professor Auerback Distinguished Professor of Molecular Oncology Professor, Department of Pediatrics School of Medicine University of California, San Francisco	2020
Sylvia Katina Plevritis, Ph.D. Chair Department of Biomedical Data Science Professor, Departments of Biomedical Data Science and Radiology Stanford University School of Medicine Stanford, California	2021	San Francisco, California	

David Sidransky, M.D.

Director

Head and Neck Cancer Research Professor of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery

Department of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery Johns Honkins University School of Medi

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Baltimore, Maryland

Ian M. Thompson, Jr., M.D.

2021

2022

President
CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Medical Center
Hospital
Texas Urology Group
San Antonio, Texas

David A. Tuveson, M.D., Ph.D.

2021

Roy J. Zuckerberg Professor Director of the Cancer Center Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cold Spring Harbor, New York

Robert H. Vonderheide, M.D.

2022

John H. Glick MD Abramson Cancer Center's Professor Professor of Medicine Perelman School of Medicine Director, Abramson Cancer Center University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Eileen P. White, Ph.D.

2020

Chief Scientific Officer
Deputy Director
Associate Director for Basic Research
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
Distinguished Professor, Molecular Biology
and Biochemistry
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
New Brunswick, New Jersey

Cheryl L. Willman, M.D.

2021

The Maurice and Marguerite Liberman
Distinguished Endowed Chair in Cancer
Research
UNM Distinguished Professor of Pathology, UNM
School of Medicine
Director and CEO, University of New Mexico
Comprehensive Cancer Center
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Executive Secretary

Paulette S. Gray, Ph.D.

Director

Division of Extramural Activities National Cancer Institute

National Institutes of Health

Bethesda, Maryland