Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award (CCITLA)



Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards

- Recognize and support outstanding clinical investigators at NCI-designated Cancer Centers who are actively engaged in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials.
- Promote the retention of clinical investigators in academic clinical research careers.

Overview

- Competitive award; candidates nominated annually by NCI Cancer Center Directors
- 8 to 12 new awards per year
- \$60,000 per year for 2 years
- At least 15% effort; time protected by sponsoring institution
- 96% of recipients who have completed award (n=114, 2009-2018) are still in academic clinical research positions

Supported Activities

- Include, but not limited to:
 - Engaging fellows and new faculty in collaborative clinical research efforts
 - Organizing courses, lecture/seminar series, educational sessions, workshops related to clinical trials
 - Participating on cancer center committees related to clinical trials
 - Developing clinical trial(s)
 - Designing and implementing initiatives to better coordinate, support and integrate clinical trials efforts at the institution
 - Efforts to improve access, accrual and efficiency of clinical trials



Eligibility

- Practicing at least 3 years but no more than 8 years post-fellowship
- Currently practicing in the oncology clinical setting; board certified
- Full-time faculty member, assistant or associate professor level
- Engaged in conducting NCI-funded cancer clinical trials
- Physician or oncology nurse, clinical psychologist, or similarly qualified clinician with a doctoral degree

CCITLA Program

- First awards made in 2009
- 132 recipients through 2020

2020 Recipients' Disease Focus Areas

- Breast cancers
- Leukemias
- Melanoma
- Neuro-oncology
- Prostate cancer
- Pediatric oncology (both leukemia/lymphoma and solid tumors)
- Thoracic oncology



Pavani Chalasani, MD, MPH

University of Arizona Comprehensive Cancer Center



Heather Cheng, MD, PhD

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center



Sara Federico, MD

St. Jude Comprehensive Cancer Center, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital



Muhammad Furqan, MD

Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of Iowa



Siwen Hu-Lieskovan, MD, PhD Huntsman Cancer Institute, University of Utah



Brian Jonas, MD, PhD
University of California at Davis
Comprehensive Cancer Center



Lakshmi Nayak, MD

Dana Farber Cancer Institute



Rayne Rouce, MD

Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive
Cancer Center, Baylor College
of Medicine

Congratulations to the 2020 NCI Cancer Clinical **Investigator Team** Leadership Award Recipients



www.cancer.gov/espanol