Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award (CCITLA)

Overview and Recognition of 2016 Recipients



James H. Doroshow, MD July 13, 2016

Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards

- Recognize and support outstanding clinical investigators at NCI-designated Cancer Centers who are actively engaged in NCI-funded collaborative clinical trials.
- Promote the retention of clinical investigators in academic clinical research careers.

Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Awards

- First awards made in 2009 with 92 recipients to date
- ~ 10 to 13 new awards per year
- Award duration is 2 years with funding of \$60,000 per year
- Candidate nominated by NCI Cancer Center Director
- Recipient must devote at least 15% effort to the activities associated with the award; sponsoring institution must protect the awardee's time for these activities

Supported activities

Include, but not limited to:

- Engaging fellows and new faculty in collaborative clinical research efforts
- Mentoring
- Organizing courses, lecture/seminar series, educational sessions, or workshops related to clinical trials
- Participating on cancer center committees related to clinical trials
- Developing a clinical trial
- Designing and implementing initiatives to better coordinate, support and integrate clinical trials efforts at the institution

Eligibility

- Engaged in conducting NCI-funded cancer clinical trials
- Practicing at least 3 years but no more than 10 years postfellowship
- Currently practicing in the oncology clinical setting; board certified
- Full-time faculty member, assistant or associate professor level
- Physician or oncology nurse, clinical psychologist, or similarly qualified clinician with a doctoral degree

Evaluation criteria

- Training and experience
- Leadership experience in clinical research activities/clinical trials
- Extent of participation in clinical trials and related activities
- Nominee's planned activities to promote a successful clinical research culture at his/her institution
- Clear institutional commitment to allow at least 15% effort for activities proposed in the application
- Appropriate level of institutional commitment to the career development of the nominee

2016 Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award Recipients

2016 CCITLA Recipients Focus Areas

- Aerodigestive cancer
- Breast cancer (treatment and prevention)
- Genitourinary cancers
- Gynecologic cancers
- Leukemia
- Lymphoma: Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin
- Myeloma
- Pediatric brain cancers

- Sarcomas
- Surgical oncology
- Thoracic cancers: Small cell lung cancer and other lung cancers
- Chemotherapy-induced cognitive impairments
- Early phase clinical trials Immune and cellular therapies
- Non-invasive plasma genotyping technologies





Rahul Aggarwal, M.D.

UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California, San Francisco

Focus: genitourinary cancers, early phase clinical trials



Jamie Bakkum-Gamez, M.D.

Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

Focus: gynecologic cancers, surgical oncology



Catherine Diefenbach, M.D.

Perlmutter Cancer Center New York University Langone Medical Center

Focus: lymphoma (Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin)



Noah Hahn, M.D.

Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins University

Focus: bladder cancer, genitourinary malignancies



Erin Hofstatter, M.D.

Yale Cancer Center, Yale School of Medicine

Focus: breast cancer, clinical breast cancer genetics and prevention



Kevin Kelly, M.D., Ph.D.

USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center

University of Southern California

Focus: acute myeloid leukemia, multiple myeloma



Sarah Leary, M.D., M.S.

Fred Hutchinson/University of Washington Cancer Consortium Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Focus: pediatric brain cancers



Frederick Locke, M.D.

Moffitt Cancer Center

Focus: lymphoma, multiple myeloma, immune and cellular therapies



Rachel Miller, M.D.

Markey Cancer Center, University of Kentucky

Focus: ovarian cancer, gynecologic cancers, chemotherapy-induced cognitive impairments



Taofeek Owonikoko, M.D., Ph.D.

Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

Focus: small cell lung cancer, aerodigestive cancer, early phase clinical trials



Geoffrey Oxnard, M.D.

Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Focus: lung cancers, noninvasive plasma genotyping technologies



Dale R. Shepard, M.D., Ph.D.

Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Case Western Reserve University

Focus: sarcomas, early phase clinical trials



Theresa Werner, M.D.

Huntsman Cancer Institute, University of Utah

Focus: ovarian cancer, gynecologic cancers, early phase clinical trials

Congratulations to the 2016 NCI Cancer Clinical Investigator Team Leadership Award Recipients



www.cancer.gov

www.cancer.gov/espanol