## NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH

## National Cancer Institute Board of Scientific Counselors Basic Sciences

## **CHAIRPERSON**

MCMAHON, Martin, Ph.D. 2021

Cumming-Presidential Endowed Chair
Department of Dermatology
Senior Director for Preclinical Translation
Huntsman Cancer Institute
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

## **MEMBERS**

AIKEN, Christopher R., Ph.D. Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair and Professor Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, Tennessee	2024	JOHNSON, Tracy L., Ph.D.  Maria Rowera Ross Chair of Cell Biology and Biochemistry Professor Department of Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology Associate Dean for Inclusive Excellence	2022
CHANDEL, Navdeep S., Ph.D. David W. Cugell Distinguished Professor Section of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Northwestern University	2024	Division of Life Sciences University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles, California	
Chicago, Illinois  GALLOWAY, Denise A., Ph.D.  Associate Director, Human Biology Division Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center	2021	JOHNSON, Welkin E., Ph.D. Professor and Chair Department of Biology Boston College Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts	2024
Research Professor Department of Microbiology University of Washington Seattle, Washington		KRONENBERG, Mitchell, Ph.D. President and Chief Scientific Officer La Jolla Institute for Immunology San Diego, California	2023
IRUELA-ARISPE, M. Luisa, Ph.D. Stephen Walter Ranson Professor and Chair Department of Cell and Developmental Biology Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medic Chicago, Illinois	<b>2021</b> cine	LAM, Kit S., M.D., Ph.D. Professor and Chair Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicin Professor, Division of Hematology and Oncology UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center	<b>2021</b> ne
JAMESON, Stephen C., Ph.D. Professor	2021	University of California, Davis Sacramento, California	
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Center for Immunology University of Minnesota Medical School Minneapolis, Minnesota		LAMBERT, Paul F., Ph.D. Howard M. Temin Professor Chair Department of Oncology Director McArdle Laboratory for Cancer Research University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health Madison, Wisconsin	2022

2024 SPEARMAN, Paul W., M.D. 2021 **LIMA,** Christopher D., Ph.D. Chair, Member, and Professor Albert B. Sabin Professor and Director Structural Biology Program Division of Infectious Diseases Sloan Kettering Institute Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center New York, New York Cincinnati, Ohio 2022 MAPP, Anna K., Ph.D. THREADGILL, David W., Ph.D. 2021 Edwin Vedejs Collegiate Professor of Chemistry University Distinguished Professor Research Professor College of Veterinary Pathobiology Director, Cancer Biology Program Department of Molecular and Cellular Medicine Life Sciences Institute Texas A&M University Health Science Center University of Michigan College Station, Texas Ann Arbor, Michigan TREJO, JoAnn, Ph.D. 2023 2023 MONTELL, Denise, J., Ph.D. Professor and Vice Chair of Pharmacology Robert and Patricia Duggan Professor Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences Faculty Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Affairs **Biology** Department of Pharmacology University of California, Santa Barbara School of Medicine Santa Barbara, California University of California, San Diego La Jolla, California **NEWTON**, Alexandra C., Ph.D. 2021 Professor of Pharmacology WANG, Michelle, D., Ph.D. 2024 Co-Director, Molecular Pharmacology Track James Gilbert White Distinguished Professor of University of California, San Diego **Physical Sciences** La Jolla, California Department of Physics Cornell University OSLEY, Mary Ann, Ph.D. 2023 Ithaca, New York The Victor and Ruby Hanson Surface Professor in Cancer WIEST, David L., Ph.D. **Epigenetics** 2021 Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Professor The University of New Mexico Immune Cell Development and Host Defense Program Co-Director, Cancer Genetics, Epigenetics, and Genomics Blood Cell Development and Cancer Keystone Program Fox Chase Cancer Center The University of New Mexico Cancer Center Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Albuquerque, New Mexico PAULL, Tanya T., Ph.D. 2024 EXECUTIVE SECRETARY Burl G. and Lorene L. Rogers Chair in Human Health Mehrdad M. Tondravi, Ph.D. Professor Chief Institute Review Office Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology The University of Texas at Austin Office of the Director Austin, Texas National Cancer Institute National Institutes of Health

2021

2023

Bethesda, Maryland

SIMON, M. Celeste, Ph.D.

Perelman School of Medicine University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

**SONTHEIMER,** Erik, J., Ph.D.

Professor and Vice Chair RNA Therapeutics Institute

Worcester, Massachusetts

Pillar Chair in Biomedical Research

University of Massachusetts Medical School

Scientific Director

Professor, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology

The Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute